金屬芯PCB是指PCB的芯(基)材料是金屬,而不是普通的FR4/CEM1-3等,目前MCPCB製造商最常用的金屬是鋁、銅和鋼合金。鋁具有良好的傳熱和散熱能力,但價格相對便宜;銅的性能更好,但價格相對較高,鋼可分為普通鋼和不銹鋼。它比鋁和銅都更堅硬,但導熱率也比它們低。人們會根據自己的不同應用選擇自己的基礎/芯材。

一般來說,考慮到導熱性、剛性和成本,鋁是最經濟的選擇。因此,普通金屬芯PCB的基材/芯材由鋁製成。在我們公司,如果沒有特殊要求或說明,金屬芯指的是鋁,那麼MCPCB就是鋁芯PCB。如果您需要銅芯PCB、鋼芯PCB或不銹鋼芯PCB,您應該在圖紙中添加特殊說明。

有時人們會使用縮寫“MCPCB”,而不是全稱Metal Core PCB,或Metal Core Printed Circuit Board。並且還使用了不同的詞來指代核心/底座,因此您也會看到金屬芯PCB的不同名稱,例如  金屬PCB,金屬基板PCB,金屬背板PCB,金屬覆層PCB和金屬芯板等。

MCPCB 被用來代替傳統的 FR4 或 CEM3 PCB,因為它能夠有效地將熱量從組件中散發出去。這是通過使用導熱介電層來實現的。

FR4 板和 MCPCB 之間的主要區別在於 MCPCB 中的導熱介電材料。這充當 IC 組件和金屬背板之間的熱橋。熱量從封裝通過金屬芯傳導到附加的散熱器。在 FR4 板上,如果不通過局部散熱器傳遞熱量,熱量將保持停滯。根據實驗室測試,帶有 1W LED 的 MCPCB 保持在 25C 的環境溫度附近,而 FR4 板上的相同 1W LED 的溫度達到了 12C。 LED PCB 總是使用鋁芯生產,但有時也使用鋼芯 PCB。

MCPCB的優勢

1.散熱

一些 LED 會散發 2-5W 的熱量,當 LED 的熱量沒有被正確去除時,就會發生故障;當熱量在 LED 封裝中停滯不前時,LED 的光輸出會降低和退化。 MCPCB 的目的是有效地去除所有局部 IC(不僅僅是 LED)的熱量。鋁基和導熱介電層充當 IC 和散熱器之間的橋樑。一個散熱器直接安裝在鋁製底座上,無需在表面安裝組件頂部安裝多個散熱器。

2.熱膨脹

熱脹冷縮是物質的共性,不同的CTE熱脹冷縮是不同的。鋁和銅由於其自身的特性,比普通的FR4有獨特的進步,熱導率可以達到0.8~3.0 W/c.K。

3.尺寸穩定性

很明顯,金屬基印刷電路板的尺寸比絕緣材料更穩定。鋁基板和鋁夾芯板從30℃加熱到140~150℃時尺寸變化為2.5~3.0%。


歡迎訪問Best Technology金屬芯PCB製造商。

Chat with Us

發送查詢

Metal Core PCB means the core (base) material for PCB is the metal, not the normal FR4/CEM1-3, etc. and currently the most common metal used for MCPCB manufacturer are Aluminum, Copper and steel alloy. Aluminum has good heat transferring and dissipation ability, but yet relatively cheaper; copper has even better performance but relatively more expensive, and steel can be divided into normal steel and stainless steel. It more rigid than both aluminum and copper, but thermal conductivity is lower than them too. People will choose their own base/core material according to their different application.

Generally speaking, aluminum is the most economic option considering thermal conductivity, rigidness, and cost. Therefore, the base/core material of normal Metal Core PCB are made of aluminum. In our company, if not special request, or notes, the metal core refer will be aluminum, then MCPCB will means Aluminum Core PCB. If you need Copper Core PCB, Steel Core PCB, or Stainless steel core PCB, you should add special notes in drawing.

Sometimes people will use abbreviation “MCPCB”, instead of the full name as Metal Core PCB, or Metal Core Printed Circuit Board. And also used different word refers the core/base, so you will also see different name of Metal Core PCB, such as  Metal PCB, Metal Base PCB, Metal Backed PCB, Metal Clad PCB and Metal Core Board and so on.

MCPCBs are used instead of traditional FR4 or CEM3 PCBs because of the ability to efficiently dissipate heat away from the components. This is achieved by using a Thermally Conductive Dielectric Layer.

The main difference between a FR4 board and MCPCB is the thermal conductivity dielectric material in the MCPCB. This acts as a thermal bridge between the IC components and metal backing plate. Heat is conducted from the package through the metal core to an additional heat sink. On the FR4 board the heat remains stagnant if not transferred by a topical heatsink. According to lab testing a MCPCB with a 1W LED remained near an ambient of 25C, while the same 1W LED on a FR4 board reached 12C over ambient. LED PCB always be produced with Aluminum core, but sometimes steel core PCB also be used.

Advantage of MCPCB

1.heat dissipation

Some LEDs dissipate between 2-5W of heat and failures occur when the heat from a LED is not properly removed; a LED’s light output is reduced as well as degradation when the heat remains stagnant in the LED package. The purpose of a MCPCB is to efficiently remove the heat from all topical IC’s (not just LEDs). The aluminum base and thermally conductive dielectric layer act as bridges between the IC’s and heat sink. One single heat sink is mounted directly to the aluminum base eliminating the need for multiple heat sinks on top of the surface mounted components.

2. thermal expansion

Thermal expansion and contraction is the common nature of the substance, different CTE is different in thermal expansion. As its own characterics, aluminum and copper have unique advance than normal FR4, thermal conductivity can be 0.8~3.0 W/c.K.

3. dimensional stability

It is clear that the size of the metal-based printed circuit board more stable than insulating materials. The size change of 2.5 ~ 3.0% when Aluminum PCB and aluminum sandwich panels was heated from 30 ℃ to 140 ~ 150 ℃.


Welcome to visit Best Technology metal core pcb manufacturer.

Chat with Us

Send your inquiry